Thursday, 24 November 2016

No Matter - Migraine


  No Matter are a pop punk band from Belfast who seem to be causing a bit of a stir with their debut full length album, Ill Advised. Listing their influences as NOFX, Screeching Weasel, Bad Religion, Dillinger Four, Ramones and The Alkaline Trio, their sound is reminiscent of all your favourite 90's Fat Wreck bands. They feature both male and female vocals and are fast paced, catchy and fun.

  The line up features Dan Kennedy (guitar/vocals), Jamie "Numskull" Wilson (drums), Caitlin "Catface" Palmer  (bass/vocals) and Jarlath Cowan (guitar/vocals). Their first release was a demo in 2011, this was followed up a year later with the Fidge ep whilst 2014 saw the release of the 7 track Drop The Act mini album. A busy touring schedule (including gigs playing alongside the likes of NOFX, Descendents, Millencolin, Anti Flag, Runnin' Riot, 999, D.O.A. etc...) has seen them hone their skills and now the new album out now on Umlaut Records) has seen them take things to a different level. You can check out their music here :

  Bands playing this kind of pop punk are 10 a penny but not many are this good and not many come from Northern Ireland. If they've not come onto your radar yet, check them out. This is the lead track from Ill Advised, it's called Migraine....